Gadgets in the Library: A Practical Guide to Personal Electronics for Librarians

Gadgets in the Library: A Practical Guide to Personal Electronics for Librarians

2-part workshop with Jason Griffey

Wednesday, July 23 and
Thursday, July 24, 2014
2:30pm ET | 1:30pm CT
12:30pm MT | 11:30am PT

Register

From the iPad to eReaders, gadgets are everywhere. As these personal electronic devices become ubiquitous in everyday life, it’s essential that libraries are fluent in their language. Whether your library wants to use these items in its services or purchase them to lend out to patrons, this two-part workshop will provide the foundation for bringing your library into the future through gadgets. Led by Jason Griffey, associate professor and chief technology strategist at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. His latest book Mobile Technology and Libraries is now available as a part of ALA Neal Schuman’s Tech Set.
Session 1: Tablets and eReaders
Session 2: ChromeOS, Wearables, and Future Tech
Over two sessions, you’ll learn about:
Operating systems versus devices
Tools for managing devices
Circulation, policy decisions, and best practices
ChromeOS and Chromebooks
Wearables and the next 2-5 years

Advertisements