Library Preservation Today

Library Preservation Today!
an ALCTS Virtual Preconference

This three-part virtual preconference will introduce participants to the
fundamentals of managing preservation efforts in libraries, archives and
historical societies. At the end of this preconference, participants will:

–value preservation as a formal library function, and learn how it
reflects and supports the institutional mission;

–appreciate the primary role of preventive care, including good storage
conditions, in extending the useful life of collections; and

–understand some of the challenges in preserving digital content and what
the implications are for the future of scholarship.

Session 1. Introduction to Library Preservation A brief history of the
subject, consider the meaning of preservation with respect to both analog
and digital collections, outline what traditional programs encompass, and
discuss how to start a program or develop what you have.
Date & Time: Monday, June 16 starting at 11 a.m. Pacific | 12 p.m. Mountain
| 1 p.m. Central | 2 p.m. Eastern
Presenter: Karen E. K. Brown, State University of New York – Albany

Session 2. Environmental Monitoring and Control A review of temperature,
humidity, light, and pollution and how they can damage collections.
Standards for library storage, and ways of achieving better conditions,
including low- and no-cost improvements, will be presented. The risk of
pests and mold in libraries will also be addressed.
Date & Time: Tuesday, June 17 starting at 11 a.m. Pacific | 12 p.m. Mountain
| 1 p.m. Central | 2 p.m. Eastern
Presenter: Julie Mosbo, Texas A&M University

Session 3. Preserving Digital Collections: An Overview A primer, assuming
little or no background in protecting and ensuring access to both born
digital and digitized collections, including text, images, and AV
collections. The presentation will provide tools to begin extending the
useful life of library collections.
Date & Time: Wednesday, June 18 starting at 11 a.m. Pacific | 12
p.m. Mountain
| 1 p.m. Central | 2 p.m. Eastern
Presenter: Peter Verheyen, Syracuse University Libraries

Full details at http://www.ala.org/alcts/events/ac/2014/vc_preservation

Advertisements