Evaluate & Improve Your Website in 10 Steps

Evaluate & Improve Your
Website in 10 Steps
Facilitated by Aaron Schmidt and Amanda Etches

3-part workshop
Wednesdays March 20, 27 and April 3
2:30 Eastern|1:30 Central
12:30 Mountain|11:30am Pacific
Register
A clean, well-designed website will mean the difference between an informed library user and a confused one. With a focus on the needs and wants of the library user, Etches and Schmidt offer 10 steps to help you develop the skills to make your library website easier to use and more interesting. These steps will help you
• Determine the purpose of your website
• Identify your users’ critical tasks
• Wrangle content and write for the web
• Understand how and when to conduct usability tests
Aaron Schmidt helps libraries connect to communities using new media technology and social software. As Digital Initiatives Librarian for the District of Columbia Public Library, he assisted with website visioning, conducted usability testing, and formed DC Library Labs, a digital research and development project. He also created user interfaces for home-brewed self check machines and iPad-based neighborhood library dashboards. A frequent speaker and Library Journal columnist, Schmidt blogs about library design.
Amanda Etches heads Discovery & Access at the University of Guelph Library, where she guides teams and projects focused on improving the overall library user experience. As adjunct at the Faculty of Information & Media Studies at The University of Western Ontario, Etches-Johnson teaches grad students about social media literacy and other topics. She frequently writes and presents about web design and usability, user experience practices and trends, emerging technology, and social media.

Advertisements